How does #dnd’s glyph of warding travel across planes?
881 views
Apr 30, 2025
Using a bag of holding to weaponize glyph of warding is objectively hilarious, but it probably isn’t how we want the #dnd rules to work. #dnd5e #2024dnd #ttrpg #dunheonsanddragons
View Video Transcript
0:00
i find glyph of warding very very
0:02
confusing in both versions of the 5D
0:05
rules 2014 2024 both confusing so the
0:09
description of the spell says that you
0:11
can place the glyph on a surface such as
0:14
a floor or a table or inside an object
0:17
that can be closed such as a book or
0:19
chest since tables books and chests can
0:22
all be moved and can all be of wildly
0:25
different sizes that tells us that we
0:27
can put the glyph on objects of pretty
0:30
wide ranging size it can be on a surface
0:34
no larger than a 10-ft square so it can
0:37
be fairly large but it can also be
0:39
really really small so in theory if you
0:43
could put this on something that could
0:45
uh close that was very very small such
0:47
as a locket or or a coin perhaps you
0:51
could put it on something small enough
0:53
to carry around but if you move the
0:55
object more than 10 ft from where the
0:58
spell was cast the glyph detonates which
1:00
means you can't like carry these around
1:02
in your pocket and pass them out to
1:04
people but it's great for putting on
1:06
something that you need to stay in place
1:08
safely such as a wizard spell book a
1:10
chest full of treasure things like that
1:13
now where it gets complicated is when
1:16
you cross dimensional boundaries such as
1:20
uh teleportation going through a gate to
1:23
another plane of existence or into a bag
1:26
of holding or a portable hole because
1:29
those are extradimensional spaces it's
1:31
not totally clear if that counts as
1:34
moving more than 10 ft if you took a
1:37
string and made it 10 ft long and like
1:40
pulled that string into your bag of
1:42
holding it would be less than 10 ft by
1:45
that distance but allowing us to move
1:49
things into that pocket dimension means
1:51
that we can then pull it back out
1:53
somewhere else to set off the effect of
1:55
those glyphs of warding intentionally so
1:59
is that what we want from the spell
2:01
probably not so in my opinion crossing a
2:05
dimensional boundary is effectively
2:08
traveling an infinite distance you are
2:10
simultaneously going like just a tiny
2:13
little bit but also an infinite distance
2:15
so I have always ruled that when you
2:17
cross a plan or boundary with a glyph of
2:20
warding whether it's into something as
2:22
simple as a bag of holding or a gate to
2:24
another plane of existence that will set
2:27
off the glyphs of warding on the close
2:30
side of that barrier
#Games
#Roleplaying Games
#Table Games